Welcome

We are currently on another long distance hike, and the third leg of our "triple crown", the Continental Divide Trail (the "CDT"). Come along with us if you can - if not in person then by following our grand adventure via our "posts from the trail".  Check out our Flickr Photos, which we'll update periodically, and see it through our eyes!

Our Credo...

"Success: To laugh often and much, to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children, to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends, to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others, to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded!" ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Baja Planning Resources

If you do decide to take a trip down the Baja Peninsula, we strongly encourage you to make use of the following resources, which we found to be invaluable.

BOOKS:

  • “The Baja Catch” by Neil Kelly and Gene Kira. The definitive “bible” for Baja Fishermen. Useful for other travelers as well.
  • “The Baja Adventure Book” by Walt Peterson. This is the book that ALL other guidebook writers refer to as the definitive text for adventure travel in Baja.
  • “The Log from the Sea of Cortez” By John Steinbeck. A classic travel narrative.
  • “Hidden Baja” by Richard Harris. A good general guidebook.
  • “Baja California” by Lonely Planet. Can’t leave the country without a Lonely Planet book
  • “Sea Kayaking in Baja” by Andromeda Romano Lax. Describes about a dozen short sea kayak trips.
  • “The Magnificent Baja” by Jack Williams. Especially useful for the automobile traveller.

MAPS:
AAA publishes a nice highway map of the Baja Penninsula used by most Baja travelers. Here’s a lovely map simply to give you an idea of how far we traveled, but if you plan to make such a trip I highly recommend getting the AAA highway map. You can click on the thumbnail to see a larger image.
Baja Map

WEBSITES:

Amigos de Baja www.bajanet.com
Baja Life On Line www.bajalife.com
Baja Bound (Auto Transportation Info) www.bajabound.com
Information Pages Baja California http://math.ucr.edu/ftm/baja.html
Baja California Travel Resource www.escapist.com/baja
Baja Mexico – the Interactive Penninsula www.baja.com
Baja Outpost www.bajaoutpost.com
Lonely Planet’s Baja Pages www.lonelyplanet.com………..baja
Baja Travel Center www.bajatravel.com
Baja Links www.bajalinks.com

PAGES

RECENTPOSTS

MYARCHIVE

FAVORITESITES

RECENTPHOTOS

Clicking on any of these photos will take you to that specific photo on our Flickr Stream, where you can view these and many, many more photos from our latest adventure....or use this shortcut to all photos.....we hope you enjoy them!

People Shots

CDT2010_TheTrailCDT20101_NMWCWMCDT2010_NMWC-1Cliff Dwelling SignCarrot PausesHiker TanCarrot Stream Crossing # 2,115Carrot takes a PhotoCarrot on the TrailCarrot Stream Crossing #5.875Carrot takes a Trail BathCarrot on the Trail still

Scenic Shots

CDT2010_yellowflowersCDT2010-valleyCliff Dwelling Carrot on the Trail 3ScenicPotty BreakScenicStream Distant HillsCactus & HillsPrickly PearJeep Road

Flora & Fauna

CDT2010_treesCDT2010_yellowflowersCDT2010-purpleflowersFloraButterfly 2BeaverFloraFlora 3Angry MarmotButterfly